South Africa’s two 2016 Olympic gold medallists have been nominated for the IAAF World Athletes of the Year Award.Wayde van Niekerk won the 400 metres in Rio and his golden moment was followed by Caster Semenya who won the 800m later in the Games.

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL – AUGUST 15: Wayde van Niekerk of South Africa is crowned Olympic champion as he gets his gold medal for winning the 400m for men’s race. Olympic athletics day four Finals on August 15, 2016 at the Olympic Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. (Photo by ©Christiaan Kotze/SASPA
This week marked the opening of the voting process for the 2016 World Athletes of the Year ahead of the IAAF Awards Night in Monaco on 2 December.


A list of 10 men and 10 women nominees were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF ‘Family’ will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms. The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting closes on 1 November. At the conclusion of the voting process, three men and three women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Awards Night.
The full list of nominees for 2016 World Athlete of the Year is:

Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)

Usain Bolt (JAM)

Thiago Braz da Silva (BRA)

Ashton Eaton (USA)

Mo Farah (GBR)

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)

Conseslus Kipruto (KEN)

Omar McLeod (JAM)

David Rudisha (KEN)

Christian Taylor (USA)

Caster Semenya (RSA)

Almaz Ayana (ETH)

Ruth Beitia (ESP)

Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN)

Kendra Harrison (USA)

Caterine Ibarguen (COL)

Ruth Jebet (BRN)

Sandra Perkovic (CRO)

Elaine Thompson (JAM)

Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)