2022 Commonwealth Games’ Provisional Proteas Women’s squad announced

Cricket South Africa has announced the Provisional Proteas Women’s squad to take part in the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

The games, which will be hosted in Birmingham from the 29th of July to the 7th of August will see the women’s cricket game feature for the first time in the Game’s history.

The South African ladies’ side has been drawn in Group B and will face New Zealand, arch-rivals England, and Sri Lanka to earn a spot in the semi-finals.

The Proteas will look to go a step further after being knocked out in the semi-finals of the T20 World cup in 2020 by hosts Australia.

“This is a momentous occasion for Cricket South Africa and women’s cricket as a whole as we prepare to send a team to the prestigious Commonwealth Games for the first time in 24 years”. Said CSA Chief Executive Pholetsi Moseki speaking to Cricket South Africa.

“This Proteas group will join a unique class of the cricketing fraternity who have flown the South African flag in a multi-code event, standing side-by-side with high-performance athletes from various sports, including track and field, swimming, gymnastics as well as netball”, Moseki added.

The side has only one uncapped player in the name of Delmari Tucker, who will hope to have an impact in the T20 stage if given the opportunity. Dane Van Niekerk is set to captain the team despite her ongoing recovery from a fractured ankle sustained in January this year.

“On behalf of Cricket South Africa, I would like to wish all the players and management set to represent the sport we all hold dearly to our hearts all the very best during this historic Commonwealth Games campaign. Coach Hilton Moreeng and the final squad, the selectors will decide on will no doubt continue to make us as a country extremely proud on the cricket field.”

“We would also like to extend our gratitude to the South African Sports Confederations and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) for their facilitation of the team’s preparedness for this truly global event”, Moseki concluded.

The team will be managed by Hilton Moreeng, who is the head coach; Sedibu Mohlaba, the team manager and Dillon du Preez, who is the assistant coach.

Abram Ramoadi is entrusted with the Performance Analyst task, whereas Molebatsi Theletsane and Zane Webster will be the Physiotherapist and Strength and conditioning coaches respectively.

South Africa’s T20 Women’s cricket provisional squad for the 2022 Commonwealth Games to be held in Birmingham this year: (A final 15-player squad will be announced on the 12th of July).

Anneke Bosch (Senwes Dragons), Tazmin Brits (Senwes Dragons), Trisha Chetty (Holywoodbets KZN Coastal), Nadine de Klerk (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Lara Goodall (Six Gun Grill Western Cape), Sinalo Jafta (Six Gun Grill Western Cape), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Ayabonga Khaka (Imperial Lions), Masabata Klaas (Senwes Dragons), Lizelle Lee (Senwes Dragons), Sune Luus (Titans Ladies). Nonkululeko Mlaba (Holywoodbets KZN coastal), Tumi Sekhukhune (Imperial Lions), Shabnim Ismail (Holywoodbets KZN Coastal), Chloe Tryon (Holywoodbets KZN Coastal), Mignon du Preez (Titans Ladies), Dane van Niekerk (Eastern Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Six Gun Grill Western Cape), Andrie Steyn (Six Gun Grill Western Cape), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Imperial Lions), Delmari Tucker (Six Gun Grill Western Cape).

Avuyile Sawula is a blogger and sports writer currently working for Grit Sports media. I am a Formula 1 and Rugby reporter.