New Zealand have announced the team to play against the Springboks in the Group C opener on Saturday 21 September.

Match day 23:


1 Joe Moody, 2 Dane Coles, 3 Nepo Laulala, 4 Sam Whitelock, 5 Scott Barrett, 6 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane, 8 Kieran Read, 9 Aaron Smith, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 11 George Bridge, 12 Ryan Crotty, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 14 Sevu Reece, 15 Beauden Barrett

BENCH: Codie Taylor, Ofa Tuugafasi, Angus Ta’avao, Patrick Tuipulotu, Shannon Frizell, TJ Perenara, Sonny Bill Williams, Ben Smith

“Any combination of players in our squad could have justified their selection. But in the end we believe the 23 we have selected is the right group for this opposition. In today’s rugby you need to have a mindset that is not about who starts, its also about what the players coming off the bench can do.” – said Steve Hansen

New Zealand and South Africa will be playing their 99th test between the two nations, with the Allblacks winning 58 and Springboks 36 with four draws.

Saturday will be the first time Allblacks and Springboks meet in a Pool stage match, all the other four encounters have been in the Play-Offs.