Steve Hansen has named his 31 man squad to represent New Zealand in Japan in this year’s Rugby World Cup.

Liam Squire and Owen Franks are notable omissions to the squad assembling on Monday to prepare for the pre-World Cup test match against Tonga on the 7th of September.


Former New Zealand under-20 captain Luke Jacobson is selected ahead of Squire and Atu Moli named ahead of Franks.

The team will be led by Kieran Read

All Blacks Rugby World Cup Squad


Hookers: Dane Coles, Liam Coltman and Codie Taylor

Props: Nepo Laulala, Joe Moody, Atu Moli, Angus Ta’avao and Ofa Tu’ungafasi

Locks: Scott Barrett, Brodie Retallick, Patrick Tuipulotu and Sam Whitelock

Loose forwards: Sam Cane, Luke Jacobson, Kieran Read, Ardie Savea and Matt Todd


Halfbacks: TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith and Brad Weber

First five-eighths: Beauden Barrett and Richie Mo’unga

Midfielders: Ryan Crotty, Jack Goodhue, Anton Lienert-Brown and Sonny Bill Williams

Utility backs: Jordie Barrett

Outside backs: George Bridge, Rieko Ioane, Sevu Reece and Ben Smith