SA Schools coach Sean Erasmus maintained continuity in selection for their third and final match in the Aon U18 International Series at SACS, against England, making only three changes to his starting team that faced France.

Jean-Jacques Kotze (hooker), Celimpilo Gumede (flanker) and Stravino Jacobs (winger) have been drafted into the run-on team in place of Jacques Goosen, Sibusiso Sangweni and Wyclef Vlitoor respectively.


Adrian Alberts has retained the captaincy after recovering from niggling injury that ruled him out of the opening match against Wales.

Wales and France will kick off the action at SACS at 12h30, while the SA Schools team – sponsored by Coca-Cola – take on England at 14h15.

“We spoke about the importance of beating England all week, so we are determined to do so to finish the tournament on a winning note,” said Erasmus.

“We thought we had what it takes to defeat France, but we made too many mistakes in the first half, and we are determined to correct that in this match.

“We have made a big improvement since the first match against Wales, and we would like to continue building on that in our final match. And hopefully the continuity in selection will contribute to that.”

Erasmus expected a physical onslaught from England, who suffered defeats against France and Wales so far.

“England always pitch up against South African sides, and we do not expect anything less this weekend,” said the coach. “They are a proud nation and they will certainly do everything they can to go home with a win.”

SA Schools team to face England:

15. Darren Hendricks, DHL Western Province / Boland Landbou

14. Sibabalwe Xamlashe, Build-it Border / Selborne College

13. Muzi Manyike (vice-captain), Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions / Jeppe Boys’ High

12. Brendan Venter, DHL Western Province / Paul Roos Gymnasium

11. Stravino Jacobs, DHL Western Province / Paarl Gymnasium

10. Juan Mostert, DHL Western Province / Paul Roos Gymnasium

9. Thomas Bursey, Build-it Border / Selborne College

8. Evan Roos, DHL Western Province / Paarl Boys’ High

7. Celimpilo Gumede, Sharks / Durban High School

6. Tristan Dullisear, Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions / Monument

5. Adrian Alberts (captain), DHL Western Province / Paarl Boys’ High

4. Lunga Ncube, Sharks / Glenwood

3. Hanro Jacobs, DHL Western Province / Paul Roos Gymnasium

2. Jean-Jacques Kotze, DHL Western Province / Paul Roos Gymnasium

1. Thabiso Mdletshe, Sharks / Glenwood

Replacements (from):

16. Jacques Goosen, Build-it Border / Selborne College

17. Dewald Donald, Ultimate Aim Blue Bulls / Affies

18. Herman Agenbag, Free State / Grey College

19. Sibusiso Sangweni, Sharks / Kearsney College

20. Uzile Tele, Build-it Border / Hudson Park High

21. Emile van Heerden, DHL Western Province XV / Paarl Boys High

22. Keketso Morabe, Thepa Trading Griffons / Welkom Gimnasium

23. Jarrod Taylor, Build-it Border / Selborne College

24. De Wet Marais, Free State / Grey College

25. Jurich Claasens, Ultimate Aim Blue Bulls / Garsfontein

26. Mnombo Zwelindaba, Build-it Border / Selborne College

27. Rynhardt Jonker, Sharks / Glenwood

28. Lwandile Menze, Sharks / Durban High School

29. Wyclef Vlitoor, Free State / Grey College