New Zealanders Beauden Barrett and Portia Woodman scooped the prestigious World Rugby Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year 2017 Awards. 

The awards were held at Monte Carlo on Sunday. Barrett becomes the only player to win the award two years in a row. 


World Rugby Men’s Player of the Year: Beauden Barrett (New Zealand
World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year:  Portia Woodman (New Zealand).
Team of the year – Black Ferns
Coach of the Year – Eddie Jones (England)
World Rugby Referee Award – Joy Neville (Ireland)
IRPA Try of the Year – Joaquin Tuculet (Argentina)
World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year – Rieko Ioane (New Zealand)
World Rugby’s Men’s Sevens Player of the Year  – Perry Baker (USA)

World Rugby’s Women’s Sevens Player of the Year – Michaela Blyde (New Zealand)
IRPA Special Merit – Rachael Burford and Richie McCaw
Award for Character  –  Eduardo “Coco” Oderigo
Vernon Pugh Awards for Distinguished Service – Marcel Martin