Italy have failed to qualify for FIFA World Cup 2018 for the first time in sixty years after a goalless draw against Sweden on Monday.

This will be the third time that the Azzurri don’t qualify for the Finals, first in 1930 and the second time was in 1958. There were emotional scenes on both ends of the field last night as the Swedes celebrated one of their greatest achievements. In contrast, the Italians looked heartbroken.


FUN FACT: Italy had not lost a competitive match on home soil since 1999

Teams that have qualified:


  • Russia (host)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL)
  • Iran (AFC)
  • Japan (AFC)
  • Mexico (CONCACAF)
  • Belgium (UEFA)
  • South Korea (AFC)
  • Saudi Arabia (AFC)
  • Germany (UEFA)
  • England (UEFA)
  • Spain (UEFA)
  • Nigeria (CAF)
  • Costa Rica (CONCACAF)
  • Poland (UEFA)
  • Egypt (CAF)
  • Serbia (UEFA
  • Iceland (UEFA)
  • France (UEFA)
  • Portugal (UEFA)
  • Uruguay (CONMEBOL)
  • Argentina (CONMEBOL)
  • Colombia (CONMEBOL)
  • Panama (CONCACAF)
  • Morocco (CAF)
  • Senegal (CAF)
  • Tunisia (CAF)
  • Switzerland (UEFA)
  • Croatia (UEFA)
  • Sweden (UEFA)