The South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) have named the team to compete at the 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games in Nassau, Bahamas from 19-23 July.


The team will have representation in six of the nine sporting codes being showcased on the Caribbean island.

The six codes are: Athletics, Beach Volleyball, Boxing, Judo, Swimming and Tennis with the biggest codes in terms of numbers being Athletics and Swimming both with a squad of 8 representatives each.

The Commonwealth Youth Games are held every four years and Team SA placed second on the medal table in the previous games in Apia, Samoa in 2015 with a total of 35 medals.

Ms Patience Shikwambana will lead the team as Chef de Mission. “It’s a great honour to lead South Africa’s youth to the 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games in Bahamas.

‘The delegation leaves the shores of South Africa during a month where all South Africans and the world celebrate Nelson Mandela’s life and legacy. Mandela Day asks us all to ‘Take Action, Inspire Change and make every Day a Mandela Day’, so to Team South Africa, go and have fun, play fair and inspire more youth to take action and get involved in sport to change their lives and become better persons in future through sport.’

SASCOC CEO, Mr Tubby Reddy added: “Though we are sending a lean team we believe it is a strong team who have all met the competitive selection criteria and will do the nation proud. Previously Team SA has performed exceptionally at these games and we therefore hope that the same or even better results will be achieved.“

“The Commonwealth Youth Games, remain an integral event for us as future stars and Olympians rise from events of such a nature,’ added Mr Reddy.

The holding camp for Team SA will take place in Johannesburg on 15 July and the team will travel to Bahamas the next day to compete against the other Commonwealth countries.

The full team is as follows:


Boys: Michael Houlie, Jarryd Baxter, Jack Oliver, Luan Grobbelaar

Girls: Rebecca Meder, Hanim Abrahams, Dune Coetzee, Mariella Venter,

Manager/Coach: Bianca Marais


Boys: Luke Davids, Jayson Weber, Lindukuhle Gora, Adam Mayo

Girls: Caroline Mosime, Marli Viljoen, Keletso Senosi, Antoinette Van der Merwe,

Manager Coach: Alroy Dixon


Lukholo Jooste and Aviwe Mamfanya

Manager/Coach – Warren Sieberts


Girls: Amorie Gonsalves

Boys: Sinovuyo Mtintelwa

Manager/ Coach: Khangelani Jack


Girls: Marli Meiring

Boys: Mosa Thetsane

Manager / Coach: Preston Davids


Boys: Siphosothando Montsi

Girls: Minette Van Vreden

Manager / Coach: Charles Mehlape


Chef de Mission: Patience Shikwambana, Athletes Services: Jabu Mabaso, Logistics: Adrian Padayachee

MEDICAL TEAM: Dr Tshegofatso Gaetsewe  Physiotherapists: Avilarsh Lukhan and Ashleigh Hansen

– See more at: