The New Zealand  Allblacks team was named earlier on today. Ngani Laumape and Hurricanes team mate  Jordie Barrett are the only two uncapped players in the squad.


 “Firstly, on behalf of the All Blacks, the selectors would like to congratulate all players selected for the DHL New Zealand Lions Series, especially the new All Blacks.

“Obviously, it’s a very special occasion for the Barrett and Laumape families, with Jordie and Ngani being selected for the first time.  Jordie has been in outstanding form, he has a skillset which is complete and has a great running and kicking game.  Ngani too has been impressive throughout the Super season and has forced his way in through commanding performances,” Hansen said 

“We’re really appreciative of the opportunity to play Samoa first up. The Samoan game is ideal in preparing us for the challenge that comes with the Lions.

“We see the DHL New Zealand Lions Series as a great opportunity to gauge where we’re at from both an individual and a team perspective.  As always, we’ll look forward to growing our game, as we know that if we don’t keep improving, others will go past us.

“We’re excited by the uniqueness that comes with playing a Lions Series as it only comes around every 12 years.”

Allblacks Squad is as follows: 



Dane Coles 

Codie Taylor 

Nathan Harris 


Wyatt Crockett 

Charlie Faumuina 

Owen Franks 

Joe Moody 

Ofa Tu’ungafasi 


Scott Barrett 

Brodie Retallick 

Luke Romano 

Samuel Whitelock 

Loose Forwards

Sam Cane 

Jerome Kaino 

Kieran Read, captain 

Ardie Savea 

Liam Squire 




Tawera Kerr-Barlow 

TJ Perenara 

Aaron Smith 


First five-eighths

Beauden Barrett 

Aaron Cruden 

Lima Sopoaga 



Ryan Crotty 

Ngani Laumape 

Anton Leinert-Brown 

Sonny Bill Williams 


Outside backs

Jordie Barrett 

Israel Dagg 

Rieko Ioane 

Waisake Naholo 

Julian Savea 

Ben Smith 

5 players have been named as part of injury cover: Jack Goodhue, Matt Todd, Vaea Fifita, Akira Ioane and Coltman.