Mark Alexander, SA Rugby President chaired a meeting held on Tuesday to discuss the process to identify 4 SA Super Rugby teams. Other members present at this meeting were, deputy and vice presidents, Francois Davids and James Stoffberg respectively, as well as Roux.

A criteria was agreed upon to determine the four teams to represent South Africa in the competition from 2018, SA Rugby confirmed. 


The critea is as follows: 

-financial and economic sustainability 

-sustainable support base

-team performance

-stadium and facilities

SA Rugby CEO said, “The committee looked at the key question of ‘what are the fundamental criteria required to make a successful South African Vodacom Super Rugby franchise?’” 

“We have reached this painful point partly because of over-optimism and partly because we have not always taken a hard-nosed business view of what is good for rugby. It is the right process with a challenging outcome for two of our franchises.
“But they have all engaged in the process at the end of which the data will drive the conclusion. We have more work to do but we are moving the process along as swiftly as is possible.”

The Franchise Committee will meet in the next two to three weeks