Rio Olympics 400-metre gold medallist Wayde van Niekerk ran off with the South African Sport Star of the Year award on Sunday night.

The young track star, who also won the award last year, had set a new world record in the one-lap sprint with a time of 43.03sec.


It was a grand occasion for the 24-year-old, with the awards being held in his home town of Bloemfontein.

For his award as SA Sport Star of the Year, Van Niekerk won a new car and a whopping R1-million, of which half will go to charity.

Making it a doubly delightful evening for Van Niekerk was the fact that he also won the SA Sportsman of the Year award.

BLOEMFONTEIN, SOUTH AFRICA – NOVEMBER 27: Caster Semenya during the SA Sports Awards at Sand du Plessis Theatre on November 27, 2016 in Bloemfontein, South Africa. (Photo by Wessel Oosthuizen/Gallo Images)

Van Niekerk’s fellow Team South Africa member in Rio, Caster Semenya, won the SA Sportswoman of the Year award. Like Van Niekerk she also won gold at the Rio Games, but over the two-lap distance where she ran a time of 1:55:28.

And the cherry on top for Van Niekerk was that his coach, Ans Botha, won Coach of the Year.

There was more recognition for Van Niekerk as he also received the People’s Choice Award, was one of five International Achievers recognised and one of two winners in the Shield of Jove category.

Sportsman of the Year with a Disability was double Paralympic gold medallist Charl du Toit while Ilse Hayes, winner of two silver medals in Rio, was named Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability.

Team of the Year went to Mamelodi Sundowns after they had claimed the PSL and CAF Champions League titles.

The full list of winners from the gala evening is:

Sport Star of the Year: Wayde van Niekerk

Sportswoman of the Year: Caster Semenya

Sportsman of the Year: Wayde van Niekerk

People’s Choice Award: Wayde van Niekerk

Coach of the Year: Ans Botha

Team of the Year: Mamelodi Sundowns

Newcomer of the Year Award: Ntando Mahlangu

Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability: Ilse Hayes

Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: Charl du Toit

Volunteer of the Year: Kim Pople

Photographer of the Year: Sydney Mahlangu

Sports Journalist of the Year: Thabiso Sithole

School Team of the Year: St Benedict’s (rowing)

Recreation Body of the Year: Egoli Squash

Administrator of the Year: Karen Losch

National Federation of the Year: Roller Sport South Africa

Developing School of the Year: Benny’s Sport Academy

Indigenous Games Team of the Year: North West Khokho

International Achievers: Brad Binder, Caster Semenya, Wayde van Niekerk, Seabelo Senatla, Kagiso Rabada

Shield of Jove: Dyan Buis, Wayde van Niekerk

Steve Tshwete lifetime award: Thomas Kwenaite, Mzimasi Mnguni, Francois Pienaar

– See more at: