Faf du Plessis has been named as South Africa’s stand-in captain for the two-Test series against New Zealand later this month after AB de Villiers was ruled out due to an elbow injury. Left-arm seamer Wayne Parnell was also named in South Africa’s 15-man squad. Fast bowler Morne Morkel, who has also been left out of the squad because of a back injury, and de Villiers were advised a recovery period of six weeks.
South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Stephen Cook, Quinton de Kock(wk), JP Duminy, Dean Elgar, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl
More to follow..