Rising South African pacer Kagiso Rabada has been nominated in multiple categories for the 2015-16 Cricket South Africa awards. The cricket board’s nomination lists saw the young pacer be in contention for various honours including Cricketer of the Year, Test & ODI Cricketer of the Year, the KFC So Good Award and the Delivery of the Year. The gala awards ceremony will take place on July 26 at the Sandton Convention Centre, a day after the CSA 25-Year Anniversary Dinner.

Rabada, who made his Test debut against India in Mohali last November, has 24 wickets from six Tests at an average of 24.70. The seamer burst into life during the home series against England after being surprisingly left out of the side for the opening Test in Durban. He claimed four wickets at Newlands and five at the Wanderers, before returning impressive figures of 13 for 144 in South Africa’s consolation win in Centurion. Rabada also made his mark in the limited-overs formats, bagging 37 wickets in 20 ODIs at 21.45 and 22 in 16 T20Is. 


For the Test award, Rabada faces competition from Temba Bavuma and former captain Hashim Amla while Quinton de Kock and AB de Villiers will join the fray for the ODI award. The award ceremonies also sees foreign players Kevin Pietersen and Andre Russell competing for the Ram Slammer of the Year award. 

The CSA Awards Judging Panel will comprise Aslam Khota (Convener), Neil Manthorp, Victor Mpitsang, HD Ackerman, Mark Boucher and Andrew Samson. Commenting on the nomination list, Khota said: “As always, these awards are tough to judge due to the stiff nature of the competition. Our world-class senior players are well established and there is an encouraging number of international newcomers making their mark as well.


1. SA CRICKETER OF THE YEAR: Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Kagiso Rabada, Quinton de Kock, Imran Tahir

2. TEST CRICKETER OF THE YEAR: Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Kagiso Rabada

3. ODI CRICKETER OF THE YEAR: Quinton de Kock, Kagiso Rabada, AB de Villiers

4. T20 INTERNATIONAL CRICKETER OF THE YEAR: Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir

5. RAM SLAMMER OF THE TOURNAMENT: Quinton de Kock, Albie Morkel, Kevin Pietersen, Andre Russell

6. WOMEN’S CRICKETER OF THE YEAR: Trisha Chetty, Lizelle Lee, Dane van Niekerk