US Open final leaderboard

-4 D Johnson (US); -1 S Lowry (Ire), S Piercy (US), J Furyk (US); level S Garcia (Spa), B Grace (SA)

-Advertisement-

Selected others: +2 J Day (Aus); +5 A Landry (US); +6 G McDowell (NI); +7 C Wood (Eng), A Sullivan (Eng), R Knox (Sco); +8 L Westwood (Eng); +9 D Willett (Eng)

Leaderboard

Dustin Johnson has claimed his first major – but only after a farcical end to the US Open that drew criticism from Rory McIlroy and Jordan Spieth.
Johnson played his last seven holes knowing he had to review a possible rules infringement after the round.
He shot 68 to finish five under but was then penalised a shot for making his ball move on the fifth green, despite being initially absolved of wrongdoing.
ADVERTISEMENT
McIlroy called organisers “amateur” and Spieth said the decision was “a joke”.
Johnson’s score was amended to four under, but he still finished three shots ahead of Irishman Shane Lowry and American duo Jim Furyk and Scott Piercy.
England’s Lee Westwood, playing alongside Johnson, started the day on two under par but carded a 10-over-par 80 to finish on eight over.
What did Johnson do?
Standing over his ball on the fifth green, he made two practice putts. As he prepared to address the ball to take his putt, it moved slightly.
Johnson stepped away, claiming that he had not addressed the ball. Had he done so, he would have incurred a one-shot penalty.
Johnson checked with a rules official, who was happy that there had been no infringement, and went on to par the hole.
Another rules official then approached Johnson on the 12th tee and, after a discussion, decided they needed to review the footage of the incident after he had completed his round because he could face a one-stroke penalty.
The penalty stroke was eventually upheld and Johnson, whose victory moves him up to world number three, signed for a one-under-par 69.
Officials explain to Dustin Johnson that he may be facing a penalty

A rules official explained to Johnson on the 12th tee that he may be facing a penalty

Johnson claimed he was not affected by the intervention from officials.
“At that point, I just thought I’d deal with it when I’m done,” he said. “I tried to block it out and not let it bother me. Who cares, it doesn’t matter any more.”
The USGA’s director of rules Jeff Hall said he had watched video of the incident and decided Johnson’s actions “could have caused the ball to move”.
Hall added: “The first time we had the opportunity to speak to Dustin was the 12th hole. We asked if there was some other reason the ball could have moved. He didn’t state a reason. We decided not to review it with Dustin at the media tent on the 13th hole and instead wait till the end.”
But McIlroy and Spieth were not impressed.
McIlroy said Johnson should not have been penalised and said he would not have hit another shot until the “farce was rectified” had he been the American.
Spieth said the incident should not be overlooked just because Johnson went on to claim a “multiple-shot victory”, while Rickie Fowler called the incident “completely ridiculous” and “laughable”.