The five Hurricanes who were stood down for breaching team curfew have been recalled ahead of the team’s home clash with the Highlanders on Friday.
The rematch of last year’s Super Rugby final will include All Blacks Cory Jane, Julian Savea and Victor Vito. Ardie Savea and Chris Eves also return to the side.
Jane, Vito and the Savea brothers have been named in the starting line-up, while Eves will take a place on the bench.
Vito’s return to number eight puts Blade Thomson at lock and Vaea Fifita on the bench. Callum Gibbins makes room for Ardie Savea to return at openside flanker.
Julian Savea and Jane will replace wings Wes Goosen and Jason Woodward. Woodward will be on the bench while Goosen has been excluded from Chris Boyd’s 23.
Captain Dane Coles and lock Michael Fatialofa have both been cleared to play after suffering head knocks last weekend against the Reds.

Continued below.
Related Content



Rugby: Ngatai missing once more ahead of ABs announcement

Both sides are coming off byes, and both are in contention for a place in the Super Rugby playoffs.
The Highlanders are third in the New Zealand Conference and fourth in the Australian group with 37 competition points. The Hurricanes are one point back.
This is the final round of play before the June international break.
Hurricanes team to play the Highlanders on Friday (asterisk indicates returning from being stood down):
1. Reg Goodes
2. Dane Coles (C)
3. Jeff To’omaga-Allen
4. Blade Thomson
5. Michael Fatialofa
6. Brad Shields
7. Ardie Savea*
8. Victor Vito*
9. TJ Perenara (VC)
10. Beauden Barrett
11. Julian Savea*
12. Vince Aso
13. Matt Proctor
14. Cory Jane*
15. James Marshall
16. Motu Matu’u
17. Chris Eves*
18. Loni Uhila
19. Vaea Fifita
20. Callum Gibbins
21. Jamison Gibson-Park
22. Ngani Laumape
23. Jason Woodward