After captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and elected to bowl, India posted 199/5 in their allotted 20 overs, thanks in main to a century (106 off 66 balls) by opener Rohit Sharma.
The Proteas scored the winning runs in the final over, reaching 200/3 with two balls remaining.


Duminy was the star for the visitors, finishing on 68 not out off 34 balls.